Republic of Iridð

The last of the southern kingdoms is not a kingdom at all. Irídð is all that remains between the Old Empire province of Æva Tereð and the Scaled Lands. Having endured a long history of wars being waged across its borders, the Irídðyr are no longer interested in burying the dead of others’ battles. With the fall of the Old Empire, pressures on the country were relieved, allowing for renewed talks between the Yrūn and their Sha’al neighbors. Today, the Irídðyr enjoy a prosperous exchange of goods and ideas with the ships of Sha’ala and many other ports.

Irídð is unique in the Land of Tassèrus due to its republican government. Established in 315 DR following a run of corrupt monarchs, the Irídði Republic was inspired by the political example of Kirydia, which had formed its republic a century earlier. The Irídði Republic was designed with strict controls to regulate the power of any individual.

Each Chamber of the Assembly elects a Consul to speak on their behalf. Each Consul has equal power. There are three Chambers: Ecclesiastical, Mercantile, and Common. No representative may serve in more than one Chamber. A Consul may never again serve as a Representative after his decennial term is complete. Representatives of the Chambers are elected for life, though members may be dismissed by popular vote from within their Chamber. All dismissals open seats to a vote by the Chamber’s electoral body: Ecclesiastical (Synod of Ilvàrdir), Mercantile (Council of Guilds), and Common (popular vote).

The Irídði army keeps to the mountains, guarding against Zrū and other threats from the Vast Untamed.


  • Type – Irídði Republic
  • Ruler – Consuls of Alkùmal
  • Capital – City of Alkùmal
  • Cities – Alkùmal
  • Calendar – …
  • Festivals – …


  • PopulationIrídðyr (650 DR)
  • Races – Yrūn
  • Ethnicities
  • Languages – Irídðic (Shalambh, Trade)
  • Religions


  • Currency
  • Imports
  • Exports

Regions, Geographic

Regions, Political

Cities, Towns, and Villages




Time Line